A Card from Elena

Late in the afternoon on Mother's Day, Kim was in the kitchen talking on the phone and I was opening bills. For historical reasons, there are some bills that Kim tracks and takes care of and some that I do. We write the checks from a joint account but we split the administrative tasks. She takes care of the medical bills and so she's had to handle the stream of little claims for Elena's last day. Forty dollars here, fifty dollars there.

Among the bills I take care of are those from the funeral home. The last envelope I opened was from Schulte and I assumed it would be for some amount we had overlooked.

It wasn't.

Kim could see on my face from the other room that this was different. She wrapped up her phone call and joined me in the dining room and asked what it was.

I shook my head.

"It's Elena, isn't it," she said.

I nodded.

"What is it?" she prodded.

It was Elena's death certificate. Another document to file. The last for her short life. It listed her as being six years old. As if it wasn't obvious from that fact, there were also notations to indicate she'd never been married and had never been employed.

I folded the paper up and put it back in the envelope. Kim picked it up.

"Don't do that," I said. "Not now." The unspoken thought between us was "Not on Mother's Day."

But how could she not look.

She had to open the envelope and pull out the full sized document. She had to open it up and read the same details that I had. And, like me before her, she couldn't stop looking. She couldn't put it back down. She sat with it for a long time while I stood and watched.

In a way, it was a card from Elena. A last note from her on Mother's Day.

Published in: on May 16, 2006 at 7:59 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dearelena.wordpress.com/2006/05/16/a-card-from-elena/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Daniel,
    I think the reason why this one still has no comments is that it is difficult to come up with anything to say. There’s no fixing this, no making it better. All I come up with is that I am so very sorry, so sad for you, Kim and Maggie. I can’t imagine what it was like opening that horrible envelope. Your are all constantly in our hearts and thoughts.
    Love,
    Patti


Leave a Reply

