Cursing the Darkness

It’s way too early in the morning and I’m leaving for my first trip of the year. I’m heading to MacWorld in San Francisco on a 9 am flight and so I’ve gotten up at six to finish packing my carry-on items.

Last night, Kim finished taking down all of the ornaments from the tree and packing them away. I carried the boxes upstairs where they will sit waiting for us next year. The tree stopped smelling of pine a few days ago. After doing my laundry and packing my clothes for the trip, my last job of the night was to take the tree out to the curb.

I propped open the front door and lifted the tree out of the outer base and carried it out to the curb. There’s a large pole across our entire tree lawn. I drop the christmas tree on the other side of the pole and unscrew the inner base from the trunk to take it back in the house.

The pole is there for a replacement street light. There’s nothing really wrong with the one that’s there. It’s 11:30 on a Saturday night and it’s brightly lit. It never fails to go on. The problem is that it doesn’t go off either.

It took me a long time to notice that the street light stayed lit during the day. Our neighbor Tom noticed that it happened when Elena died. Kind of a vigil.

And now they’re replacing it with a light that only goes on when it’s dark.

Published in: on January 7, 2007 at 8:26 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dearelena.wordpress.com/2007/01/07/cursing-the-darkness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I know we’re coming up on a year since Elena died. FWIW, I am praying steadily for you, Kim & Maggie, and all the others who are feeling this loss and wondering all at once how it can be only a year…and a year so soon…


Leave a Reply

