Stupid things

Last week my sister Jill and I were over at Rick and Laurie’s house and they invited me over for their family picnic.

Kim and I have gone for many years and love talking to Rick’s brothers and his extended family. It’s been Labor Day weekend for a long time.

Sunday Rick texted me to tell me the family would get there around 2 and they’d be eating around 5 and I could come when I want.

I asked what I could bring.

He checked and said that Laurie said I could bring wine or potato salad.

So after I met with Venkat Sunday afternoon, I stopped at the grocery story and picked up a couple of pounds of potato salad.

That night Rick texted to see if I wanted to meet for coffee in the morning.

Sure.

Labor Day morning I met Rick for coffee at 8 and gave him the potato salad.

He thanked me and said they have plenty of leftovers and would be eating this along with them.

I’d missed the party.

I’m such an idiot.

Rick delivers bread and gets up at 1 am. The Labor Day Weekend family party is always on Sunday because he works early Tuesday morning. They couldn’t throw the party on Monday.

I felt so stupid. Just another detail that I’m not remembering. Rick couldn’t have been nicer. He figured I was feeling overwhelmed and didn’t want to go to the party. He offered to meet me for coffee to make sure I was doing ok.

So nice.

After coffee I went home and started to cook.

I don’t know what prompted me. It could be the wonderful smell of barbecue from our neighbors two doors down.

I’ve just started shopping and cooking again. I haven’t gotten used to shopping for one yet. My refrigerator is way to full of produce that I’m struggling to use quickly. Today I think a lot of the vegetables are going to be combined into gazpacho.

Sunday I made fifty vegetarian dumplings. Monday I made fifty pot stickers. Napa cabbage and pork with ginger, leeks, garlic, soy, rice wine, sesame oil, and cornstarch.

I froze the dumplings and stir fried the remaining filling for a late lunch.

Not quite barbecue – but delicious pork on Labor Day. Could be a new tradition.

I did a little cleaning, took out the trash and recycling, and was reading when there was a knock at the door.

It was my neighbor – the one who was barbecuing.

“Do you eat pork?” she asked.

I nodded.

“Here,” she said, “I brought you this.” She handed me a rack of ribs.

“Thank you,” I said, “I smelled them while you were cooking. They smelled great!”

She smiled and we chatted a bit. I thanked her again.

The dog jumped against the inner door.

“Did she lock you out?” my neighbor asked.

“No,” I said, “I’ll be ok.”

She left and I closed the front door.

The dog had locked me out.

Our inner door has a knob that turns fine on one side but spins on the other side without grabbing. Sometimes it takes several minutes to get it to turn.

I’d just turned it around because I usually open it from the inside not the outside.

But here I was stuck on the outside.

I’m such an idiot.

After spinning it for minutes I realized I had a problem. My keys to the back door were inside on the desk.

I pulled the knob off and used the piece that extended from the knob on the other side of the door to open the door.

I guess I’m just going to do stupid things for a while.

None of them will be that important.

I just have to stand back and laugh at myself.

These little things are the things that would get me upset while Kim would look at me and say, “what’s the big deal?”.

I am trying to learn to shrug off these things that aren’t a big deal.

Stupid things.

 

Published in: on September 6, 2016 at 8:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dearelena.wordpress.com/2016/09/06/stupid-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

