Rubber Ducking

I spent most of yesterday writing thank – you notes.

I haven’t thanked everyone.

I’m not sure what the rules are.

Do you thank someone who sent you a note?

Someone who travelled far?

What about the many people who donated to SmileTrain for whom I don’t have addresses?

I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feeling.

I hope people will understand.

I trust people will understand.

I don’t know if fields other than software development have the notion of “rubber ducking”.

You’re stuck.

You don’t know what to do next.

Nothing you are doing seems to be working.

You need help – but you don’t want help. At least you don’t want help from someone else. You want to solve this yourself.

You turn to a colleague and let them know you’re just “rubber ducking”. This tells them that you are going to explain a problem to them but you really don’t want them to offer suggestions or solve it for you.

So you start to describe the situation.

You dig in and detail where it is you’re having problems.

And somehow – just by explaining the issue to someone else – just by saying it out loud – -just by finding the right words – somehow you know the right way to go.

You knew it all along but you couldn’t spot it.

It was on the tip of your tongue but you couldn’t say it.

Yesterday I wrote thank you notes.

I am grateful. I appreciate them whether I sent a formal note or not.

I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feeling.

I hope people will understand.

I trust people will understand.

Thank you.

Published in: on September 9, 2016 at 3:10 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dearelena.wordpress.com/2016/09/09/rubber-ducking/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

