Snack

When I get home, I head upstairs and let the dog out of her cage.

She runs down the stairs to the back door and waits for me to catch up to her to let her out.

Not yesterday.

Yesterday she must have heard me come in with groceries or smelled something from the kitchen as she ran to the back door.

By the time I got back downstairs, she had opened and eaten the smoked salmon I was going to serve as an appetizer on Saturday.

My fault.

I should have put it away before going to get her.

She was just being a dog.

I let her out.

I cleaned up her mess and put away the rest of the groceries.

I let her in.

She jumped up to lick me.

Her breath still smelled of salmon. She seemed to be rubbing it in.

I wiped her paws and let her go.

She went to her bowl.

Fair enough. That probably doesn’t count as dinner. It’s just a snack.

I got a cup of food and put it in her bowl. She waited patiently til I told her it was ok to eat. Then again, she couldn’t have been that hungry. She’d just eaten my smoked salmon.

Kim would have lectured her at this point.

“I can’t stand you,” she would have said. “You ate that whole package of smoked salmon. What’s wrong with you?”

Annabelle would have finished her food and looked up at Kim, head cocked to the side.

“Bad girl,” Kim would have said.

I’d look at Kim and say, “she doesn’t know what you’re talking about.”

“Oh, she knows.”

I smiled at the memory of Kim as I watched Annabelle drink a bowl full of water. So cute and so bad. Then again, it was my fault. I know better than to leave food out with the dog around. I just thought she’d head to the back door like always.

Annabelle pawed her empty dish for me to fill it again.

I did.

“Go ahead,” I said, “you’re probably thirsty from eating all that salmon.”

Annabelle paused a moment while drinking to look up at me. Then she returned to her water.

She knows.

Published in: on December 22, 2016 at 5:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dearelena.wordpress.com/2016/12/22/snack/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

