Inbounds

Yesterday I used a basketball metaphor about practicing and getting in position and waiting for someone to inbound the ball to you.

But you don’t always have to wait for someone else.

There was a video that went viral a few years ago of a high school basketball player looking to inbound the ball under his own basket.

As his teammates cut to get open, he looked for the best play and noticed that the man guarding him had turned his back to him.

The guy inbounding the ball noticed this opening and bounced the ball off the back of the guy who was supposed to be guarding him, stepped inbounds, caught the ball as it bounced off of his opponent’s back, turned, and scored the winning basket.

He looked to do things the usual way, saw an opportunity, and acted on it.

Just saying.

While I look around at the usual things, I’ve also been trying to look for opportunities where I don’t have to wait for an inbound pass.

This week I’ve been exploring what my new project will be now that I’ve finished my book. There are a couple of sections I already know I need to add to the current book, but I’ve been experimenting with a project for teaching kids to code and I’ve been nailing down how to turn my book into a series of videos.

If I see someone open, I’ll still pass to them. To me that’s teaching opportunities, articles, contracting, and speaking at conferences. But I’m also looking for new things to try.

Published in: on February 9, 2017 at 7:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dearelena.wordpress.com/2017/02/09/inbounds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

