Newspaper Announcement

STEINBERG

Elena Maxine Steinberg, age 6. Beloved daughter of Daniel H. Steinberg and Kimberli A. Diemert; dear sister of Margaret Rose (Maggie); cherished granddaughter of Ira and Priscilla Steinberg and Thomas and Geraldine Diemert; fond niece of Jill Steinberg, Ethan Steinberg (wife Rona and son Eli), Thomas Diemert Jr. (wife Patricia) and Carolyn Perlman (husband Jeffrey and daughter Lydia); loving cousin and friend to many. In lieu of flowers, please send donations to the Elena Steinberg Memorial Fund c/o Shaker Schools Foundation, 15600 Parkland Dr., Shaker Hts., OH 44120. Funeral Mass, Monday, February 27, 2006 at Our Lady of Peace Catholic Church at 10 a.m. Interment Lake View Cemetery. Family will receive friends at the SCHULTE & MAHON-MURPHY FUNERAL HOME, 5252 MAYFIELD RD., LYNDHURST (BETWEEN RICHMOND AND BRAINARD) SUNDAY 2-6 P.M.

X-REF:   DIEMERT see STEINBERG notice

PD SAT 2/25 & SUN 2/26

Published in: on February 24, 2006 at 1:08 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dearelena.wordpress.com/2006/02/24/newspaper-announcement/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m sorry for your loss. I’m sorry I don’t know what to say. It is breaking my heart to read your blog about Elena. I cannot imagine the pain in yours.

  2. Daniel, my heart goes out to you and your family. I wish you all strength and support.

  3. Hang on, hold on, oh what a huge loss to bear. I don’t know how, but I do hope you and your family find a place in your hearts, bodys, souls, where you can carry this burden … i’m grasping for the words, not comfortably, though in some sense i do hope you find a place that can do just that… a place where this pain of loss, wrapped together with such a joyous spirit as Elena, can be cradled and rocked along in the rythm of whatever the days and years bring. I hope your family comes through this together. I hope you meet her again some day.

    A little while after my grandfather passed, on the other side of the world, my two year old son looked up at our dining room ceiling and laughed. When I asked him what he was looking at, he said, “Great grampa.” I asked my son if he looked sad… “No. He’s happy. He gets to play now and be a little boy again.” My son did not know his great grandfather was gone.

    An online friend of great wisdom, whose husband knows you, led me to you. I’ll be thinking of you and yours, and wishing.

    christina

  4. Dear Daniel (As I type tears are welling up in my eyes),

    I’ve just had my little son a few days back (6 days) and I have no words to say except that I hurt for you! I’ve lost someone so close, so dear a few months back. And the pain is indescribable.

    May God give you and your family the courage and strength to bear with this loss.

    God bless.

    Tarry

  5. Daniel,

    I feel you pain and I know I don’t. We lost our son almost 6 years ago, he was 42. I could say that I know what you are feeling, but I am certain that I don’t. I can tell you that life continues and I feel it must continue. We got up the next morning and ran. Then we lost ourselves in work and in running. It did not take the pain away, but it did manage to center us. There are good days and bad days, we tell ourselves that we got to enjoy him for 42 years. Some people don’t.

    I wish you and your family well in the years ahead and much joy from Maggie and from your memories of Elena. You will find that you will take great comfort from them. My heart goes out to you.

    Best regards,
    Ralph Friedman

  6. It took me a while to write a response.

    I heard, I cried, I prayed. I cried some more.

    After the pleasantries, the first thing Daniel and I spoke about when getting together each year were our children. We both had girls of similar ages. These children are the centers of our lives. The jobs we have allowed us to maximize our time with them. I can only imagine, and hopefully never realize the pain.

    True empathy is something I hope I never fell, because it hurts too much right now.

    I love you,

    Take care,

    Malcolm

  7. Dear Daniel,
    Well I finally read it all. Thank you. Keep writing. It’s hard to type while you’re crying and shaking, but you’ve got to know that this has changed my life. My entire perspective has shifted. I won’t choose cleaning the kitchen or paying the bills over playing baby dolls with the girls or having a catch with Jack ever again. All that clutter on your dining room table that we joke about makes sense to me now. My table is usually cleaned off, but in exchange for what? What did I miss with J, K or S while I was performing my constant straightening??? I’m trading in my semi-orderly household for a flat out, head over heels love affair with the kids. The words “later honey, mommy’s busy” are being deleted from my vocabulary. I always figured there’d be plenty of time for playing later. No I know “later” may not happen. There are no words for this loss, but there seem to be lots of words for my gain: yes, Jack; I’d love to, Kate; and let’s do that again, Sarah!

    Love,
    Patti

  8. Dear Maggie,
    I am aorry that your sister passed away. I am very sad too. My dolls are sad too. My mommy is very sad. I hope you pray for her. Love, Claire

  9. DEAR STEINBERG FAMILY,

    IAM A 36 YEAR OLD MOTHER OF FOUR CHILDREN. AT THIS AGE IN MY LIFE I SHOULD BE ON TOP OF THE WORLD. I WAS UP UNTIL JUNE5,2005, WHEN I LOST OUR ONLY DAUGHTER TO MENINGITIS. OUR WORLD WAS BLOWN APART UNDER OUR FEET. OUR DAUGHTER LAUREN WAS ONLY 9 YEARS OF AGE. SHE WAS BEAUTIFUL AND PERFECTLY HEALTHY UNTIL THE SATURDAY NIGHT JUNE 4, I PICKED HER UP FROM A THREE HOUR DANCE CLASS AS I HAD DONE FOR FOUR YEARS, SHE WASN’T HERSELF. AFTER WE ARRIVED HOME WE TOLD HER TO GO TAKE A BATH AND GET INTO BED, SHE ONLY COMPLAINED OF A STOMACH ACHE. I WENT TO HER ROOM TO CHECK ON HER, WHEN I NOTICED THAT SHE WAS VERY WARM, I TOOK HER TEMP AND IT READ 106.4 I WAS BEHOND SCARED. I GAVE HER MOTRIN, CALLED THE PEDIATRICIAN. I GAVE HIM ALL THE SYMPTOMS THAT MY DAUGHTER HAD. HE TOLD ME THAT SHE DID NOT FIT THE CRITERIA. IF HE HAD ONLY FOLLOWED WITH HIS INSTINCTS MY DAUGHTER WOULD HAVE HAD A FIGHTING CHANCE. MY HUSBAND TOOK HER TO OUR LOCAL HOSPITAL THEY TOOK AN EXRAY TO RULE OUT PNEMONIA, AND JUST WATCHED HER A LITTLE, THEY SENT HER HOME ABOUT FIVE HOURS LATER WITH THIS DEADLY INFECTION AND TOLD US TO TREAT HER WITH MOTRIN. MY DAUGHTER WOKE UP SEPTIC JUST HOURS LATER. WE WERE TOLD THAT IF THEY WOULD HAVE DRAWN HER BLOOD, THIS INFECTION WOULD HAVE BEEN DETECTED. WE WERE TOLD THAT PENICILIAN WOULD HAVE SAVED HER, HAD THEY DONE EVERYTHING THEY COULD TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS CAUSING THIS DEADLY HIGH FEVER. BECAUSE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF OUR DAUGHTERS DEATH, WE HAVE FILED A LAWSUIT AGAINST THE DOCTORS INVOLVED. I FEEL THAT PARENTS NEED TO KNOW THAT THIS CAN HAPPEN TO ANY CHILD OF ANY AGE. MENINGITIS HAS NO AGE PREFERENCE. THE SCARY THING IS THAT THEY PUT OUT THE WARNING SYMPTOMS TO THE PUBLIC, BUT WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR SICK CHILD TO THE HOSPITAL, TELL YOU EVERYTHING IS OKAY WHEN IT IS NOT. CHILDREN HAVE A BETTER CHANCE OF SURVIVAL WITH EARLY TREATMENT, MY DAUGHTER WAS NEVER GIVEN THAT CHANCE. SO NOW IT IS MY CALLING TO HELP EDUCATE PARENTS ON THIS SUBJECT. MY DAUGHTER COULD NOT HAVE BEEN VACCINATED BECAUSE THE SEOGROUPB STRAIN THAT SHE CONTRACTED THERE ARE NO CURRENT VACCINES FOR IN THE US. THIS STRAIN IS ONE OF THE MOST COMMON ONES, AND IS THE DEADLIEST. AS A PARENT THIS IS A SCARY ISSUE. IT SHOULD BE, IT CLAIMED MY CHILD WITHIN HOURS OF CONTACT. I JUST WANTED TO SHARE MY STORY WITH YOU. I FIND THAT IT HELPS SOME FOR ME TO LEARN ALL THAT I CAN, IF MY KNOWLEDGE, AND OUR DAUGHTERS STORY CAN HELP PREVENT ANOTHER FAMILY OF LOOSING A CHILD TO THIS DEADLY INFECTION, IT’S WORTH EVERY MINUTE. A CHILD THAT DIES OF THIS, IS ONE CHILD TO MANY. JUST ALLOW YOUR HEART TO GUIDE YOU, THERE ARE NO RIGHT OR WRONG WAYS TO GRIEVE. ALLOW YOURSELVES TIME TO GRIEVE. MY FIRST FEW MONTHS AFTER MY DAUGHTERS DEATH, I DID ALOT OF READING ON BEREAVED PARENTS, IT HELPED ME. JUST KEEP IN MIND THAT YOU HAVE CONTROL OVER YOUR PAIN AND GRIEF, IT DOES NOT CONTROL YOU. I NEVER TELL MY HUSBAND HOW HE FEELS WE RESPECT EACH OTHERS FEELINGS, AND OUR GRIEF IS NOT THE SAME AS TWO PEOPLE ARE NOT THE SAME. I WISH YOUR FAMILY PEACE! IF YOU WOULD EVER LIKE TO TALK, PLEASE EMAIL ME.
    GREATEST SYMPOTHY TAMMY TRUSLOW

  10. My thoughts and prayers are with you all at this time

  11. I’m sorry for your loss.

  12. My heart goes out to you, Kim and Maggie. May Elena rest in peace.

  13. Dear Daniel,

    Olivia really enjoyed her play dates with Elena. She was so full of energy and loved to play sports. I can remember them having a lively game of street hockey in our driveway. My daughter misses her.

    As a father I grieve for you. I hope the love and support of family and friends helps you and your family through this difficult time.

    Paul

  14. Requiescat in pace.

  15. I’m a father of twins who are soon to turn 6. I can only imagine the repeating pain that you and your family must be feeling each time you’re reminded of Elena. It will get better with time, you know.

    Life turns on a dime and tomorrow I (or any parent) could be in your position. Believe it or not, I think about that often, especially when I tuck my son and daughter in each night. And I’m thankful for each day I get to have with them. Because I know it won’t last forever. But I like to think that love does.

    Kev

  16. Our most heart-felt sympathy to Dan and Kimberli.

  17. DEAR STEINBERG FAMILY,
    I’m 11 years old and I know the pain you feel losing your daughter.I lost my Best Friend Lauren Turslow to Meningoccemia on June 5,2005.The Day I our teacher sat our 4th grade class down and began to cry I knew something was wrong.After to minutes of explaining it felt like God stabbed me in the back,taking my best friend was just so painful.Days later,my other friends,sam and megan,helped me realize that God only took her to make his kingdom beautiful.Every night now I pray…but the pain wont stop.Now I feel like Im really talking to her.Sorry for your loss.
    I’m praying,
    Kristen,11,MD

  18. Can I buy a vowel…

    I haven’t a clue about this topic. None of it does make sense to me….


Leave a comment